Power Sector – Information Sharing and Analysis Center (ISAC – Power)

Cyber security of Critical Infrastructure is a growing concern among business and Governments worldwide. The Government of India, through Information Technology Act-2000 laid the foundation of CERT-In, an organization dedicated to the cause of Cyber Security standards, compliances, Incident Response and Guidance. The Government of India after reviewing the needs of cyber security in Critical Infrastructure sector, created dedicated Sectoral CERTs.

Following the directives of GOI/ CERT-In, MOP created six sectoral CERTs:

S.No.Sectoral CERTNodal Organization
1.CERT – ThermalNTPC
2.CERT – HydroNHPC
3.CERT – TransmissionPOWERGRID
4.CERT – DistributionDP&T Division, CEA
5.CERT – Grid OperationNLDC
6.CERT – Renewable EnergyMNRE/SECI

Further, the Government of India, under the provision of Information Technology Act, 2000 created National Critical Information Infrastructure Protection Centre (NCIIPC).

Following the best practices in the area of Cyber Security, a central coordinating agency to share and analyze various cyber security incidents in the Power Sector, Information Sharing and Analysis Centre (ISAC-Power) was conceived. The ISAC-Power will be the common platform for the six Sectoral CERTs under Ministry of Power. The ISAC-Power will focus to be the Central Information Resource pooling and sharing platform.

Details of CISOs

S.No.CISONameDesignation & OrganizationEmail ID
1.CISO-MoPShri M.A.K.P. SinghMember (Hydro), CEAmakp.singh@gov.in
2.CERT-Thermal & CISO-NTPCShri A.K PatelAGM (IT-Communication), NTPCakpatel@ntpc.co.in
3.CERT-Hydro & CISO-NHPCSh. VibhorGr. DGM (IT) , NHPCvibhor@nhpc.nic.in
4.CERT-Transmission & CISO-PGCIL Shri P V NathExecutive Director, POWERGRIDciso@powergrid.co.in
5.CERT-DistributionShri Praveen KamalDirector(DP&T), CEApmisra.cea@cea.nic.in
6.CERT-GO & CISO-POSOCOShri K MuralikrishnaExecutive Director (NLDC)kmuralikrishna@posoco.in