## Inter-Regional Transmission Capacity Existing and Programme during 10<sup>th</sup> Plan

At the end of the 9<sup>th</sup> Plan that is by year 2001-02, the inter-regional transmission capacity was 5050 MW.

The addition to the inter-regional transmission capacity during the year 2002-03, 2003-04 and 2004-05 had been 2500 MW, 1000 MW and 900 MW respectively. Thus by adding 4400 MW during first three years of 10<sup>th</sup> Plan, inter-regional transmission capacity of 9450 MW is existing by end of 2004 -05.

The programme for the years 2005-06 and 2006-07 is 2500 MW and 4500 MW respectively. Thus another 7000 MW is to be added during the remaining two years of the 10<sup>th</sup> Plan.

With this, a total of 11400 MW would be added to the inter-regional transmission capacity during the 10<sup>th</sup> Plan period (2002-07) that would take the total inter-regional transmission capacity in the country to 16450 MW by 2006-07.

Details in respect of the above is as following:

	Power Transfer Capacity (MW)		
Name of System	At the end of	Addition	At the end of
	9 <sup>th</sup> Plan i.e. end		10 <sup>th</sup> Plan i.e.
	of 2001-02	2002-07	end of 2006-07
ER – SR:			
Gazuwaka HVDC back to back	500	500	1000
Balimela-Upper Sileru 220kV S/C	100		100
Talcher-Kolar HVDC Bipole		2000	2000
Upgradation of Talcher – Kolar HVDC		500	500
Bipole	(00	2000	2600
ER-SR total	600	3000	3600
ER -NR:			
Muzaffarpur - Gorakhpur 400kV D/C		2000	2000
(Quad Moose) with series compensation			
Dehri-Sahupuri 220kV S/C	100		100
Sasaram HVDC back to back		500	500
Biharshariff-Balia 400kV D/C (Quad Moose)		1200	1200
Patna-Balia 400kV D/C (Quad Moose)		1200	1200
ER-NR total	100	4900	5000
ER - WR:			
Rourkela-Raipur 400kV D/C (without series		1000	1000
compensation)  TCSC on Rourkela-Raipur 400kV D/C		400	400
Budhipara-Korba220kV D/C+S/C	400	400	400
Ranchi-Sipat 400kV D/C (40% Series Comp.)	400	1000	1000
ER-WR total	400	2400	2800
ER - NER :	400	2400	2000
Birpara-Salakati 220kV D/C	250		250
Malda-Bongaigaon 400kV D/C	1000		1000
ER-NER total	1250		1250
NR - WR :	1200		
Vindhychal HVDC back to back	500		500
Auria-Malanpur 220kV D/C	250		250
Kota-Ujjain 220kV D/C	250		250
Agra-Gwalior 765kV S/C line-1 400kV		1100	1100
operation			
NR-WR total	1000	1100	2100
WR-SR:			
Chandrapur HVDC back to back	1000		1000
Barsur–L.Sileru 200kV HVDC mono pole	200		200
Kolhapur-Belgaum 220kV D/C	250		250
Ponda – Nagajhari 220kV D/C	250		250
WR-SR total	1700		1700
TOTAL ALL INDIA	5050	11400	16450