



भारत सरकार
GOVERNMENT OF INDIA
केन्द्रीय विद्युत प्राधिकरण
CENTRAL ELECTRICITY AUTHORITY
विद्युत मंत्रालय
MINISTRY OF POWER
सेवा भवन, रामकृष्ण पुरम्
SEWA BHAWAN, RAMAKRISHNA PURAM

नई दिल्ली-110066, दिनांक : NEW DELHI-110066, Dated :

संख्या: . 6/214 /के.वि.प्रा/ ई एंड सी/एफ एंड सी ए/

दिनांक 16.10.2015

To

As per list

Subject: Meeting Notice for Review of National Electricity Policy (NEP)

Sir/Madam,

The Ministry of Power, Government of India, has constituted a Committee to review the National Electricity Policy. A copy of the Order constituting the same is attached at **Annexure-I**.

The second meeting of the Committee to Review the National Electricity Policy will be held on 27.10.2015 at 12.00 Hrs in the Conference Room (2nd floor) of CEA. It is requested to kindly make it convenient to depute an appropriate senior officer to attend the meeting as a special invitee. The agenda of the meeting is as follows:-

- (i) To consider the recommendations of the Working Group on Power for 12th Plan regarding amendment in National Electricity Policy
- (ii) Comments received from stakeholders, if any.
- (iii) Finalization of the focus areas for review of National Electricity Policy, for which wider consultation is to be sought.
- (iv) Any other matter with the permission of the Chair.

Confirmation of attending the meeting may kindly be communicated to the undersigned at the below mentioned e-mail addresses.

pan_batra@hotmail.com

vidyasri66@yahoo.com

(Pankaj Batra)

Chief Engineer (F&CA)

& Member Convener of the Committee

MAILING LIST

- 1. Secretary, Department of Atomic Energy
- 2. Secretary, Ministry of New & Renewable Energy sources
- 3. Secretary, Ministry of Coal
- 4. Secretary, DIPP
- 5. Chairman, Railway Board
- 6. Director General, TERI
- 7. Director General, BEE
- 8. Director General, NPTI
- 9. Vice Chairman, Niti Ayog
- 10. Secretary, Ministry of Petroleum & Natural Gas
- 11. Secretary, Ministry of Environment & Forests

No. 23/19/2015-R&R Government of India Ministry of Power

Shram Shakti Bhawan, Rafi Marg, New Delhi, 11th September, 2015

ORDER

Subject: Constitution of a Committee to review the National Electricity Policy.

In compliance of section 3 of the Electricity Act 2003, the Government of India had notified the National Electricity Policy on 12th February, 2005.

- 2. The objectives of the National Electricity Policy, inter alia, are viz. supply of Reliable and Quality Power of specified standards in an efficient manner and at reasonable rates, Financial Turnaround and Commercial Viability of Electricity Sector, Protection of consumers' interests etc.
- 3. Section 3(3) of the Electricity Act, 2003 provides that the Central Government may, from time to time, in consultation with the State Governments and the Central Electricity Authority, review or revise, the National Electricity Policy and Tariff Policy. The Working Group on Power for 12th Plan had also made recommendations for amendments in National Electricity Policy (NEP) in addition to Electricity Act, 2003 and Tariff Policy.
- 4. The Ministry of Power has already initiated the process of amendment to the Electricity Act, 2003 and Tariff Policy. It is desirable to align the National Electricity Policy accordingly and also enable Central Electricity Authority to come out with a National Electricity Plan for 13th Plan and perspective plan for 14th Plan period in accordance with the revised National Electricity Policy.
- 5. In order to carry out comprehensive revision of the National Electricity Policy, the Ministry of Power hereby constitutes a Committee under the chairmanship of Chairperson, Central Electricity Authority, with the following composition:

	(i)	Shri Major Singh, Chairperson, Central Electricity Authority		Chairman
\$ 5125 Sente 1915 Sente 1915		Shri Gyanesh Bharti, Director (R&R), MoP	,	Member
	(ii)			Member
	(111)	Shri S.K. Chatterjee, Jt. Chief (Regulatory Affairs), CERC		Member
	(iv)	Shri S.K. Soonee, CEO, POSOCO		
	(v)	Managing Director, MAHAGENCO	*****	Member
	(vi)	CMD, APTRANSCO	*****	Member
	(vii)	CMD, Chhattisgarh State Power Distribution Company Ltd		Member
	100	diown CESLBall	Dia	in beau
Oate.14/9/18	7	Member (E4C) We w John will CE IRI	Main	the many

- (viii) CMD, West Bengal State Electricity Distribution Company Ltd. (WBSEDCL) Member
- (ix) CEO & Managing Director, Tata Power Delhi Distribution Ltd (TPDDL) Member
- (x) Shri Shantanu Dixit, Coordinator, Prayas (Energy Group) Member
- (xi) Shri Pravir Neogi, Chairman- Power Committee and Chief Executive, Corporate Affairs, Member
- (xii) Shri Pankaj Batra, Chief Engineer, CEA Member Convenor
- 6. The Committee may opt any other member, as deems fit.
- 7. The Terms of Reference of the Committee are as under:
 - To consider the recommendations of the Working Group on Power for 12th Plan regarding amendment in National Electricity Policy.
 - ii) To align the National Electricity Policy in line with the proposed amendment in Electricity Act, 2003 and Tariff Policy.
 - iii) To seek comments from State Governments and various other stakeholders.
 - iii) To seek comments from State Control of the comments from State Control of the comments from State Control of the control
- 8. The Committee will submit its report to the Ministry of Power within two months from the date of this order.
- This issues with the approval of Competent Authority.

(Rajendra Singh)

Under Secretary to the Government of India

Tel: 2373 0265

To

- Chairperson, Central Electricity Authority, Sewa Bhawan, R.K. Puram, New Delhi.
- 2. Secretary, CERC/FOR, Chanderlok Building, New Delhi

Copy to:

- 1. Shri S.K. Soonee, CEO, POSOCO, New Delhi.
- 2. Shri Pankaj Batra, Chief Engineer, CEA, New Delhi.
- 3. Shri S.K. Chatterjee, Jt. Chief (RA), CERC, New Delhi.

La en es

- Managing Director, MAHAGENCO, Prakashgad, Plot No. G-9, Bandra (East), Mumbai-4
- CMD, APTRANSCO, Vidhyut Soudha, Khairatabd, Hyderabad- 500082
- CMD, Chhattisgarh State Power Distribution Company Ltd, Energy Info Tech Center, 5. Daganiya, Raipur (Chhattisgarh)- 492013 6.
- CMD, West Bengal State Electricity Distribution Company Ltd. (WBSEDCL), Vidyut Bhawan, Block-DJ, Vidhananager, Sector-II, Kolkata -70009 7.
- CEO & Managing Director, TPDDL, NDPL House, Hudson Line, Kingsway Camp, Delhi -8.
- Shri Shantanu Dixit, Coordinator, Prayas (Energy Group), C/o Amrita Clinic, Athawale Corner, Karve Road, Deccan Gymkhana Corner, Pune - 411004. 9.
- Shri Pravir Neogi, Chairman- Power Committee and Chief Executive, Corporate Affairs, FICCI, Federation House, Tansen Marg, New Delhi 10.

Copy for information to: PS to MoS(IC) for Power, Coal and NRE, PPS to Secretary (Power), PPS to AS(BNS), PPS to AS (BPP), PPS to JS(R&R), PPS to Director (R&R)